I Went! (The Mary Jarvis Experience)

It was AMAZING!

Let me say first that the internet steered me toward a WRONG first-impression of Mary (imagine that).  I was wrong, wrong, wrong.  The water thing wasn’t an issue – everyone but her had some.   Dude, she even gave us door love!  The concern about a “power over” teaching style… not even close to the truth.  She was wonderful, compassionate, encouraging, funny…

As for my concerns about being worthy, god help me she was on me like white on rice.  By Awkward she was giving me pointers, by Standing Head to Knee she asked my name and started USING it, and by Balancing Stick she was verbally high-fiving me with the whole room turning to look.  My intent had been to hide in the back of the room and just do class and observe.  Not.  A.  Chance.

I’m so glad I went.  I’m so glad I got to hear her thoughts and experiences with this yoga.  I wish I could give you all a transcript of the class.  My main takeaway was how much compassion she has for the struggles we’re all going through.  Pain, loss, heartbreak, physical limitations – I could tell that she felt for each person individually.  I could feel her feeling for us.

Also, her hair is really, really long (does anyone remember Crystal Gayle?).  I actually got hotter and sweater just watching her hair.  At one point during the series, I stopped to pick a hair off my shoulder (my only real pet peeve/fidget in the room)… and it was Mary’s hair!!!  I thought that was pretty funny.

We had some demonstrations by some “professional” yogis, though I have no idea who they are (and didn’t get their names).  It was pretty amazing to get to watch some of the series by people who do it well.  One of the gals had such straight spine and shoulders I just couldn’t stop staring.  I cannot imagine having a body that relaxes into such good posture.

It was so many things.  Things I wish I could remember and write down here for you.  For me too.  All told we were in there for three hours.  Which means I am now totally convinced that I can do a double with no problem.  It took us about 2.5 hours to get to Camel, which was about when I had a meltdown and had to step out.  I only left for one set, and made it back for the second.  I still didn’t do Rabbit, and I was totally okay with it.  She worked me (specifically) hard on the final stretching.  It was super intense!  And I think I really, really understand the final breathing exercise now.  I got it.  I felt it.  I’d never had the belly cramp before last night.  Breakthrough!

I think that’s it for now.  I’m overwhelmed with trying to remember.

9 responses to “I Went! (The Mary Jarvis Experience)

  1. I am so happy for you! Mary is here at MY cape Cod studio tomorrow and I can’t go because I’m teaching children’s writing in BOSTON this week and I have to go up tomorrow! After reading your last two post, I’m soooo jealous!!! But I’m so very glad it was good for you!!! :)

  2. I’m so happy for you. I loved her workshop here in London! Just shows that you should always have an open mind, experience stuff first-hand before making up your mind :) Well done.

  3. Wow! This sounds incredible. I need to keep my eyes peeled for the next time this happens nearby. Was it a posture clinic?

    Seriously, reading your blog is making me so happy. :)

Leave a Reply

