An OUTSTANDING Class

Seriously, people.  Tonight was an amazing class.  And I almost didn’t go.  I was feeling lazy and kinda hungry and excuse-y.  But damned if I didn’t go and have a positively joyful class. 

Cynthia was teaching.  I swear to Whatever that she purposefully makes her environment sacred.  I always feel it, but tonight the room was thick with it.  It was grand.  The room felt safe, protected, lifted up.  The poses were difficult, of course.  My back and leg were killing me, of course.  But it was all okay.  I paid absolute attention to my breath, and it got me through.  Cynthia’s willingness to have us make noise, sigh, laugh… well, that got me through too. 

Tomorrow is hip injection day, and I’m hoping for a miracle.  Even if this injection takes care of the pain, I have become very aware that I need to make it an absolute priority to take care of my raging stress, anxiety, depression, and the body that houses it.  This yoga saved me a year ago and because of my new (and exhausting) work hours, I haven’t been able to go as often as my body and mind need me to.  So here I am, back at the beginning.  I don’t want to keep repeating this pattern, so I have to create some boundaries with work and then stick to them.  Sticking to them seems to be the most difficult part. 

I’m going to take care of myself.  Let’s all take care of ourselves!

 

8 responses to “An OUTSTANDING Class

  1. This post made me SO happy. Honestly, I had the most horrific day at work (we unexpectedly nearly lost a patient in surgery) and now I’m sitting here with a huge grin on my face. I’m so happy you had a rockstar class! Best of luck for your hip injection, hon xx

    • Yay! Yes, it felt good to have that class. I swear, I was laying in savasana when it was all over thinking “I should stay for the next class.” I have never, EVER thought that. I… chickened out though. I wanted to keep the bliss flowing.

  2. I too have found that I tend to have the best classes on the days I struggle most with going. I’m trying to complete a 20-class challenge this month. We shall see!

Leave a Reply

