Another Step Back

My back is angry again, and it’s really pissing me off.  It’s my SI joint and piriformis muscle on my left side.  I think it mainly stems from work.  I’ve had two weeks of vigorous 12 to 13 hour days on my feet running around like a crazy person, which also means I’m unable to attend yoga regularly to keep my body happy.  I’m having some real difficulty finding balance between work and yoga (and, ya know, life).  I’m not sure what to do about it.  I can’t just leave work when there’s still work to be done, and I’ve yet to see the Bikram class that starts at 9pm or even 5am (and I’m not even sure that I could handle that).  I’m seeing my chiropractor and massage therapist, but I also think it’s time to get in to see my regular doc for a referral.

I did have a wonderful class last night accompanied with lots of Yogi friends.  My back was hurting, but I made it through.  At some point during Rabbit (which I always skip) I was lying in Savasana and the next thing I know it’s two poses later and the teacher is calling my name!  I had this weird feeling of being rushed back into my body.  Did I fall asleep?  I have no idea!  I thought my eyes were open, but I can’t be sure.  I definitely was not in the room, which is a first for me.  I mean, there have been times when I’ve BEGGED my mind to leave the room with no luck whatsoever.    It was weird.

I skipped yoga today but I’m planning on hitting class tomorrow.  I’m starting to think seriously about doing a challenge in March, but that means I’ll have to figure out a way to get out of work on time.  Right now everything feels up in the air.  There are a couple gals in my studio who are ROCKING the January 30-day.  I want that.  I want to make a commitment to my body and my health.

Fingers crossed!

 

6 responses to “Another Step Back

  1. I hear you! I’m bewildered on how to balance life/yoga/work out when taking classes, and I’m so grateful for being freelance right now. Do you know anyone who attends the early morning classes? I have no idea how to be hydrated enough and have eaten enough to withstand even a 6:30am, let alone a 5am!? Good luck tomorrow, and I hope your back begins to let go soon!

    • I don’t know anyone who does the early classes… I don’t know how they do it without having eaten (unless they’re up at 2am for a snack) or having anything to drink. Those people are clearly made of something else entirely! I’m hoping the back will feel good for class tomorrow too. I got an ass-kicking massage today so I bet I’m going to feel better in the morning. Thanks again!!!

      • I sometimes take 6 am or 7 am classes. What works for me is having a small piece of fruit (half an apple, 3/4 of a banana), but I prefer to have a small glass of green smoothie. The good thing about smoothies is that you can prepare them the previous day and they keep very well in the fridge. I find that I am fine sipping on those on my way to the studio, and stop about 15-20 minutes before class begins.

        Regarding work, I have not found a magic solution yet. I too struggle (a lot) with balancing work, yoga, and relationship time…forget about making time for other friends, interests, or quiet me-time. I don’t know what to do, but I know it cannot go on like this forever.

  2. Jo! what an extraordinary out of body experience. You let go and that’s such a hard thing to do sometimes – to just surrender. I found a home practice very rewarding, and I still do. Today I couldn’t make it to the studio, so did a DVD Yin practice. Tomorrow, I’ll likely do a Power Yoga DVD as again, cannot make it to the studio. Yoga on your own is better than no yoga at all. Let me know if you’d like suggestions on yoga DVDs. Sometimes, just setting aside 15 minutes to do a few morning poses can change the course of the day. Here’s to finding that balance in the best way possible. :)

      • That’s how I got started with DVDs. I found that Bikram too often was too intense for me so discovered Yin Yoga (opposite to Yang yoga which is sweaty, hot, Bikram!). In Yin Yoga, you holds poses for a longer time (3-5mins) and it really tests your patience and ability to surrender, I recommend Paul Grilley’s DVD.

        As for something more along the lines of Bikram, I still find Rodney Yee’s Power Yoga challenging, and recently discovered Core Power Yoga Beginner’s Series. Both are 60 minutes. while Core Power Yoga resembles Bikram’s series, the Power Yoga for Rodney features quite a few Sun Salutations that you may not be familiar with. Google to take a look at that sequence.

        For a 30 minute quick stretch, I like Core Cross Train Yoga by Rodney Yee. It would be no problem for a Bikram practitioner to handle :)

        I hope you start a home practice on the tough-to-get-to-studios. It cultivates an inner stillness that isn’t as achievable to find in class (that I have found). Better still, it helps with the Bikram practice too :)

Leave a Reply

