Class #59, 6/15/2012

Here we are again.

Let me start by saying that my home is very much lacking in ice cream.  I don’t believe that I should be expected to complete a challenge ice-cream-free, so I will be remedying this tomorrow.

Class today was super tough.  Inspired by A Sweaty Adventure’s post today, I decided to move from my super special spot near the door (and under the fan) to the center of the room (yet still under a fan… baby steps).  I did this intentionally, to get myself out of my comfort zone, and to see what would happen.  I told today’s teacher (and studio owner) Gerdette my plan, and joked that it would probably screw with my head somehow.

Well, I don’t know if it was the spot change or just my body, but today’s class was rough.  On a scale of 1 to Dying, it was only a 7, but still:  Rough.  Someone, and I don’t know who, removed the muscles from my lower half and filled me back up with jello.  I got absolutely nothing done during the standing series.  Thank goodness I can laugh at myself because I looked ridiculous.  There I was, center of the damned room, unable to do most of the poses.  I was barely able to stay upright on two legs, let alone one.  I couldn’t wait to get to the floor.

My only highlight was that my first Half Moon back bend was awesometastic.  My arms went back and just kept going.  But that was it.  By second set my body had turned on me.

For the floor poses, I went back and forth between full-on panic and calm.  I flipped back and forth more times than I could count.  I got through it by sheer will alone, I tell you.  And somehow through it all, I got a call-out on my Full Locust.  Woot!  Also, I’ve been doing my sit-ups this week.  They look terrible, and I have to kick my legs a little to get them going, but it’s a start.  I used to skip them.

I think my very first double is planned for next Thursday.  G & A said they’d “double” with me.  That will be wonderful!!

We also discussed the need for the occasional “loud” class.  Sometimes I want to jump up and down with excitement for something I’ve done.  I’m not alone here. 

Hitting the 4pm tomorrow and that will be it for this week.  Five days per week for two weeks is feeling pretty good.  Maybe I could keep this up forever. 

 

3 responses to “Class #59, 6/15/2012

  1. Moving your mat was a great idea even if your class stunk. It gives you a different perspective on your practice. I am so excited about your first double.You can do it! Can’t wait to hear about it.

Leave a Reply

