Class #47, 5/18/2012

Dear god I’m tired.  Today’s class was brutal for me.  It was wicked effing hot in there and exceptionally juicy.  I admit, I spent the day trying to come up with a good enough excuse to miss class.  But the fact that I hadn’t been for a week kept me from taking any of them to heart.  So to class I went.

I placed my mat right under a fan, because I had a feeling I’d need it.  The Universe, however, had other plans because the teacher didn’t turn on the fans during the entire class.  I telepathically willing, pleading, demanding that she turn them on, but no.  No fans.  I had sadface the entire time, and was struggling quite a bit during the floor series.  I kept thinking “I have to get out of here.”  “Why aren’t the goddamned fans on?”  “Really?  Not even for Camel?  No fans???”  I was a little preoccupied! 

Plus, during the standing series (particularly during Standing Separate Leg Stretching) I actually thought I was going to throw up.  There was that distinct moment of trying to hold it in and that was a little scary.  That’s when I decided to lay down and breathe it out.  I’ve never truly almost vomited in class.  Uncool, stomach. 

What else.  Pranayama Breathing actually felt good tonight.  I held my Eagle for longer than I have in a very long time.  I got a call-out on my Balancing Stick, which was awesome (and I immediately fell out, ha). 

OH!  I had a breakthrough on my Full Locust!!!  I realized that if I go ahead and make my legs super concrete, knees up off the floor, butt tight (like in Cobra) before I go up, then somehow my thighs stay off the floor for the entire time with no struggling.  WTF?  How have I not done this before?  I was FLYING!!!  Felt amazing.

What else…  Honestly, I didn’t do much else on the floor because of the NO FAN situation (pouty).  I was fighting to stay in the room so I pretty much just perfected my Dead Body Pose tonight. 

And now I collapse.  Ahhhhhhhhh. 

6 responses to “Class #47, 5/18/2012

  1. Oh how I sympathize! You can’t know how many times we are told we can’t control the room, the only thing er can control is our breath! For a control freak, such as I, not being able to will the teacher to open the windows and/or the door is…OH SO FRUSTRATING! But I love what I’m learning – surrender – trust her to “have it” – trust the process. Love your blog! I write my own. Here’s my link. Today my instructor made me relocate to the center of the room! Left my wall! Aghh……
    http://thewritestuff.typepad.com/anotherdaygoesby/2012/05/a-little-off-balance.html

  2. You would think our telepathic abilities would improve as a result of this yoga! You had a rough class, but you survived. Here’s hoping the next one is better.

Leave a Reply

